Acura RSX, ILX and Honda EP3 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This third gear wall shit is pissing me off. I know its not me , cause ive been driving stick for 3 years, and this car for about 5 months. It has like 5000 miles on it and now and then when I go into third it hits a little wall, then goes in. Any one know what the deal is with this shit.
cars a 06 si

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
nah it happens even when its warm, now and then though, not every day, but i didnt change the tranny fluid yet because it only has 5500 k on it so i didnt think i had to yet???
thanks

·
Registered
34 Posts
3rd gear wall from time to time seems to be pretty common, unfortunately. I know it happens once in a while on my 07 Si, mainly first thing in the morning. I have done a short shifter and shifter base bushings, and have the shifter cable bushings on order(07 is different from 06 for these parts) in order to try to help this situation out. It has made a little + difference so far, but nothing major. A lot of people are using Amsoil MTF synthetic fluid and having great results. I am going to give it a while, then change the fuid with Honda MTF, and see if it helps any. If it does not, I will probably use the Amsoil or Redline MTF.

Also, make sure that you have Honda document that you are having the issue before you do anything. And I have only 1,500 miles on the Si.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Just a little side note, I know that the President of Spoon recommends that people change their tranny fluid each time they change their engine oil, at about 3,000 mile intervals. At 1,500 miles, I am going to change mine out as soon as I get a chance to, just to be safe and to get any bits of metal out of the case.

·
6262 Powered
1,286 Posts