Acura RSX, ILX and Honda EP3 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
469 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So last night I was driving my 5spd with one of my boys, we had just gotten on the service road, I see an older model Mercedes next to me, trying to pass so I leave the car in 2nd and then shift to 3rd at around 45 mph, the car pulled hard in 2nd, but once I went to 3rd it just lost its momentum (of course there was a bit of up hill). I kept up with the Mercedes till 90 and then we shut down, I guess the 3rd gear is were the difference between the Type S and the Base becomes evident. Oh by the way I don't think its worth it to mod the base, for the money that you're gone be spending you're much better off buying a Type S right off the bat IMO!

·
Registered
1,546 Posts
Third gear is too long in the 5speed. They should have made 3rd gear shorter and 4th gear slightly longer in my opinion... but I'm not an engineer so I don't know exactly how that would affect the overall economy and maintenance and such.

Who that wanted immediate performance didn't get the TypeS anyway? Anyone that bought a Base probably wasn't looking at performance alone, or shouldn't have been if they decided on the Base.

·
Registered
469 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
R_in_Base said:
I like my base. BTW shifting to [email protected] is early - way early.
So, when would you have shifted, I don't want to over work the engine! Overall I'm very happy with it, its just that sometimes you kind of wish you had a little more boost, but I guess that's human nature you're never satesfied, maybe in the next 4-5 years I'll upgrade to something that has more torque and Hp, G35???? :thumbsup:

·
Registered
1,546 Posts
Second gear redline is at about 64mph. You had a LOT of head room to shift down into second still. Third gear redline is 80-something mph. Fourth is 110. Fifth is 140.

Up shift at 6,900 to 7,000 RPMs or you'll hit the rev limiter.

·
Registered
4,814 Posts
simsim said: