Acura RSX, ILX and Honda EP3 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I have 2002 Acura RSX-S. As of this summer my AC has not been working well. When I turn on the car...it blows cold air for a few minutes and then after that its not cold basic dry air. Every once in a while it will go back cold air for a short period of time along the trip. This is normally a bigger problem when the temperature is very hot outside.

For milder temperature it normally stays cold the whole time, but does tend to loose cold air sometimes too. I never had this problem till this summer and have lived in places with very hot weather.

I was wondering if someone can tell me what the problem is most likely and how much is about a fair price to get it fixed. I have limited auto knowledge and don't like it when I go the dealer/auto repair shop and they make a long estimate for repairs that are not needed. Thanks for your help!

·
likes to troubleshoot
2,539 Posts
Start with running the climate control unit diagnostics. Instructions start on pg 21-8 of the Helm.

·
DC5 Junkie
541 Posts
try this:

you need to look at the compressor and see if the clutch is engaging. You should here a click sound when the clutch engages, If you are lo on freon the clicking sound will come on and off rapidly.. like as in click,,,, click..... click... and so on.. if you hear one click and the air gets cold. it might just be the switch on the lo side a/c line gone bad and not letting the clutch run correctly..

·
02 blue type-s
312 Posts
I had a similar issue. Question-does the ac blow cold when you are MOVING and then get warm if you stop the car?

Our CRV did this and was driving me insane. Id start up the car in the heat to let it cool down and it would blow cold for a few seconds then get warm. But if we were driving along hiway speed it worked great.