Acura RSX, ILX and Honda EP3 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dont know anything about building a box.. LOL but i would like help building a new box for my woofer. i have tried looking at the RE box calculator as well as the Torres one. they all seem so confusing. i dont know when u would need to point your sub up and have the port down?? any help would be greatly apreciated.

Oh and the sub is a P1 15 inch Fosgate 8 ohm woofer.

and i have a prime 500.1 amp

sealed box. 1/0 gauge from the alternator to a stinger spv35 battery then 4 gauge fosgate wire to the amp.

This is what i came up with but i dont know if it will work ?

·
bleep-bleep bleeeep
1,631 Posts
I've been an audio engineer for longer than I care to admit. And I've seen more home made speaker cabinets/subs thrown in the dumpster that I can remember. It's not rocket science. But most folks seem to have a really hard time making it sound good. Even when you reverse engineer a store bought one; it just doesn't sound the same.

By the time you buy all the shit and spend all the time; you may realize that it would have been easier/cheaper to just buy one.

All I'm saying is beware. It ain't as simple as it looks.

-scott

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Oh. So what would you recomend? Paying a professional to huild and tune the box for me . Or do you think it would be worth the en devour building my own box?

·
The Audio Guru
12,945 Posts
Go to a custom box builder esp if you have never built a ported box before.

Personally I would not bother as the equipment you are running as it is pretty entry level and I would spend my money on a better sub then a better amp as you are not getting any power to that sub if it is 8 ohm as at 4 ohm a 500.1 is only doing 250watts so at 8 ohm you might be giving it 150 watts, get a 4ohm DVC sub and run at 2 ohm to get the full 500 watt potential out of the amp.

·
Burr
2,020 Posts