Acura RSX, ILX and Honda EP3 Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
unknown
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been at this for 7 hours. Kind of tired. I know. Search but it's 1 am. I just finished swapping my exhaust cam on my k20a3. I follow the instructions to the dot from the speedshop write up. That and also i used ephatch.com cam install for reference.

I checked everything twice, maybe three times, to ensure that I put everything back the way I took it off. I go to crank the engine and it starts to idle at 2k. It's expected. Cold engine so it's warming up to operating temperature. Wells, after it's warmed up, I lightly step on the throttle to see how the cams are doing. I hear very loud ticking as the rpm climb. I've adjust the valve lash already. Did I do it wrong. I followed the instructions from the Helm's manual.

Oh. And this is my first time doing this. ;x

·
unknown
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Not sure. But I didn't replace the rockers. Only the exhaust cam. Is it possible I didn't adjust the valve lash correctly? If there's too much slack between the rocker and the valves, would it cause my engine to tick as the rpm climb?

·
Registered
2,684 Posts
what kind of tick is it?? is it a quiet but fast tick that gets louder as rpms increase?
if it's that double check the valve clearance. if it sounds like its whining w/ a tick it can be that your tensioner gave out.

why did you only change the exhaust cam??and not both?

·
unknown
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
what kind of tick is it?? is it a quiet but fast tick that gets louder as rpms increase?
if it's that double check the valve clearance. if it sounds like its whining w/ a tick it can be that your tensioner gave out.
It's the tick that increase as rpm increase. I had to redo the valve clearances. It was too tight and I believe that was what caused it.

why did you only change the exhaust cam??and not both?