Acura RSX, ILX and Honda EP3 Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

In case you’re stupid like me. I bought the moog ball joints, i put the fill adapter to geese it up as a i please. The axle kept going into the Hub just before the grooves for the bolt were accessible. For 2-3 hours I tried everything. Sanding off all the rust ( wasn’t much ) wd40, even grease. Even started smacking the knuckle to get the spindle all the way in. No matter what I tried the spindle would not come all the way through not even enough for one tread to screw the axle nut.

Turns out the fill adapter on the ball joints was hitting on some metal ring on the axle and wouldn’t let it get pushed out more.

If what I wrote doesn’t make sense since I’m still learning about car parts in general I hope the picture makes sense. The arrow to the ball joint was hitting the arrow to the cv axle where the grooved ring is.

·
Registered
265 Posts
so what is your approach now?

can you install the axle with the grease fitting installed on the ball joint?, which Honda never designed the ball joint to have that fitting coming anywhere near that axle's path - the axle needs to have as much room as possible for it to do it's thing without interference from anything.

you may not want to here this, replace that Moog ball joint and at least get the oem replacements or Hardrace's oem replacement ball joints or something that does not require a grease fitting on top.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
so what is your approach now?

can you install the axle with the grease fitting installed on the ball joint?, which Honda never designed the ball joint to have that fitting coming anywhere near that axle's path - the axle needs to have as much room as possible for it to do it's thing without interference from anything.