Acura RSX, ILX and Honda EP3 Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I'm a newbie here, a little old lady who is a longtime owner of a 2003 RSX. It has about 195,000 miles and has been mechanically well-maintained over the years.

Just before Thanksgiving, the heater began blowing cold air. I took it to the trusted mechanic who has been taking care of the car for the past 5 years or so. He first said it was clogged, but he couldn't unclog it, and said the heater core would need to be replaced. Okay. Then he said the temperature switch on the dash was "clicking." I drive this car every day and never heard a click, but okay.

Long story short, they pulled the dash to find the "click" and also replaced the heater core. Still no heat. Then he told me the heater air mix lever assembly was worn out (I think that's what it's called...I am literally an old lady with no real mechanical skill). I asked if that was the source of the "click," and he said, yes. I asked why he didn't fix it when he was pulling the dash and the heater core, and he backtracked, saying it didn't look worn then. So, it wore out to the point of failure within a day???

Anyway, it was going to take a while for parts to arrive, so he "fixed" the air mix lever so that the heat from the replaced heater core would stay on continuously and I could drive in the cold. But, after he did that, there was a strong smell of exhaust coming out of the vents. I was annoyed that they hadn't fixed the air mix lever issue when the heater core was pulled, so they went to great lengths to try to fix the smell. It's not as bad as it was initially, but it's still there to the extent that my clothes and hair smell faintly like exhaust when I get out of the car. I'm having to drive with the sunroof open and windows cracked so that I don't get asphyxiated.