Acura RSX, ILX and Honda EP3 Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
599 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2003 rsx s with 50,000 miles ans just replaced rotors and pads, only the front ones. I had vibrations on the pedal and the steering wheel, not any more though, since i changed them. But do i have to bleed or flush the brake fluid after the install, by the way i didnt do it but should i? Its designed to be a seal system and shouldn t be opened unless there is a major problem. Im a daily driver with stock pads and discs.

·
From B to K
670 Posts
I think you should.

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
The older your brake fluid the more water it has in it. Even a small amount of water dramatically lowers the fluids boiling point. This is a major concern of people that track their car on a road course. If you just DD your car as you say you should be fine so long as the pedal feels good and firm.

·
Registered
599 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
the brake pedal doesn t have that sudden stopping feel that a new car has but its not soft or misssing pressure. Its normal feel. If not now then when should i do it?

·
Registered
882 Posts
the brake pedal doesn t have that sudden stopping feel that a new car has but its not soft or misssing pressure. Its normal feel. If not now then when should i do it?
when you change brake pads, in my experince, its always a good idea to bleed the system with fresh fluid. most people can slap on pads and be done with it, but the braking system is how important to you? just my 2 cents

·
Registered
599 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
ok im convinced ill do it. although ive never change my fluid on any of my cars before. Whats the most popular procedure and most efficient way that will get rid of all the old fluid in the brake system.

·
DC5 Krew
2,827 Posts
it wouldnt be a bad idea to flush them out but u really dont have to thoe. u should do a brake fluid flush i think every 2 years or every 40k on or car

·
7,611 Posts