Acura RSX, ILX and Honda EP3 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im looking at getting some metal racing pedals for my car and am wondering how they are installed. I'm by no means a mechanic so I'm wondering if I can do it myself. I have heard that they just go over the top of the originals, is that true? Do I have to remove any part of the original pedal? Any help would be nice.

·
Registered
2,667 Posts
take off the rubber on the stock pedals and you can either clip them on or drill them on.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
do they come with instructions of any type that would give me some sort of clue how to remove the rubber ones?

15-20_God said:
take off the rubber on the stock pedals and you can either clip them on or drill them on.

·
Registered
3,813 Posts
just pull the rubber off. its pretty simple.

·
Registered
620 Posts
Just curious: Is it then unwise to screw pedal covers on directly over the stock/existing rubber? :dontknow:

…O.K., I’ll come clean: That’s what I did on my car, and they seem to be staying in place just fine—have been for over a month now…. :confused:

·
Registered
3,813 Posts
I have the mugen pedals which go right over the bare pedal.

·
the overrated fig shot
3,237 Posts
smokejag said:
Im looking at getting some metal racing pedals for my car and am wondering how they are installed. I'm by no means a mechanic so I'm wondering if I can do it myself. I have heard that they just go over the top of the originals, is that true? Do I have to remove any part of the original pedal? Any help would be nice.
The clutch & brake rubber pedals are just covers, you can take them off easily. The gas pedal you probably can't. Why waste the time anyway? Just slap another one on top. There are usually double-sided tapes on the back and you just drill the screws on top.

·
Registered
433 Posts