Acura RSX, ILX and Honda EP3 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Du ma
2,238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone, so I finally had the time to actually start working on my Nexus headunit. The way I'm doing it is a bit different, which you'll see below. Ever since my car got broken into, I've been scared where I park now, even though I never leave anything valuable inside. So I'm not going to take any chances having the tablet visible.

This isn't really a DIY, but more of an insight that hopefully would be able to help you out or give ideas if you decide to do the same thing.

I am not a professional or master craftsman, not do I claim to be one LOL

So what I'm currently doing is modifying the Double DIN Plate and expanding the opening in order to fit the Nexus and make it easily removable. I then made a backing plate that'll hold the Nexus in.

First started off with this piece, taping off the sections I want to shave off with a dremel.

May be a bit flimsy due to the thin plastic, however once you make the fiberglass backing, it'll reinforce the whole structure

Fits in easily and I was surprised that it was actually big enough to accommodate the size of the Nexus

I then taped the tablet up and laid it face down to start making the fiberglass backing plate.

Cut out a piece of fabric and started laying resin down.

Let the resin harden about 45 minutes before slowly pulling the Tablet out.
(I didn't let it fully harden because I did that once on another project and had to literally cut the iPad out and start over, because it was hard as a rock and nearly impossible to pull out :rotfl:)
Though it wasn't completely hardened, it still retained its shape and was easy to pull the tablet out.

Let the resin and backing plate completely harden for a couple hours and here is another test fit.

Filled up the crevices and smooth it out with bondo.

Sanded and dremeled down so the tablet could fit again