Acura RSX, ILX and Honda EP3 Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
429 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do you guys always take your Acura RSX to and Acura dealership for scheduled maintenance, or is it perfectly acceptable to bring it to a Honda Dealership instead? The reason that I ask is because the nearest Acura is 30 mi away, and Honda is right in my city. I also heard bad things about the Acura place here. The one I bought my car from is a two hour drive away, and I just don't feel like driving that far for maintenance!

Honda said they do Acura maint., but I just wondered if they will know what they are doing (just in case they never had an RSX roll in there).

Is this a stupid question??

·
Registered
30 Posts
im a car salesman and can tell u first hand experience that an acura u can bring to honda because its basically the same company matter of fact any car to any dealership is ok but bring it to honda cuz i bought my rsx at a honda dealership and i've brought it there sometimes and its ok

·
UnDr PrShR
1,854 Posts
Honda dealership is always cheaper than acura for some strange reason.....beside a 20K should just be like a oil change and a couple of minor fluid checks so save the money and DIY. IMO

·
Registered
191 Posts
30k prolly a transmission fluid change, oil depending on ur driving schedule, maybe throw in a tire rotation and look at the brakes... acura sends me a flyer saying included in the service is a chasis lube... which is weird cuz very few cars today, let alone imports, have grease fittings that arent sealed. all depends on ur knowledge level... if u dont know shit about cars and how to check fluids and such... get a knowledgeable person, dealer or shop to give u a hand

·
Registered
50 Posts
Personally I feel that dealerships can be risky, especially if they think you might buy a new car from them... at the very least, they're a rip-off.

I've got a great Honda mechanic, they have a vested interest in keeping me happy.

·
Retired OG