Acura RSX, ILX and Honda EP3 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
815 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay so im looking at picking up a K20A2 with a spun rod bearing;
i've had no experience with engine building and i dont know what all gets messed up when an engine spins a rod bearing; is the head still good and how much money am i looking at having to spend to get the engine back running;
if not i plan to sell the bottom end to a friend so he can build it for turbo in his eg hatch.

·
Registered
815 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
okay so how much money am i looking at to get it running again.

·
Registered
815 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
okay well im looking at getting a set of k20 pistons/rods for cheap

·
Registered
815 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
will keep it updated; imma rip apart the block
and look for bent rods see if the crank is still usable; fried piston rings and what not.

·
Registered
815 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)

picking these up for $95 shipped.. everything look okay?
they only have 7-8k on them and just have been sitting

·
Registered
815 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
okay i got my pistons/rods today;
they came with rings but they arent brand new
should i buy new oem ones or can i reuse these
they only have 7-8k miles on them.

·
The new guy
112 Posts
I would just purchase new ones. If you dont know if the new pieces are good you have to measure them. If you dont know how then you gotta take it to someone who does because if you make a mistake and your dont have enough or if you have to much clearance youll ruin the engine again, not fun. You have to measure Cylinder bore, taper, crank mains, piston diameter, compression ring endgap, connecting rod bearings. Crank end play, make sure the block if flat, make sure the head is flat. Time consuming but its necessary. and these are all the measurements i can think of right now. but be careful and do it right the first time.

·
Registered
815 Posts
Discussion Starter #12