Acura RSX, ILX and Honda EP3 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,377 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey there everyone,

i have been around this board for a little while now and have read all the posts i can find on turbo'ing the RSX. Is it just me or is the information on these posts all over the map??

I will read a series of good posts and get excited and start mentally committing to installing a turbo and then i will read a couple bad posts and get discouraged.

I mainly need to know the following:

1) If i run CN stage 1 will the life of my motor suffer at like 7psi??
2) is greddy or sfp any less harsh on the engine?
3) I am not an expert on motors and i dont want to constantly have to fix stuff. Should i not turbo my RSX then??
4) I have seriously been considering buying an EVO since it is already fast as hell out of the box....should i just dump the RSX and move to the EVO? Has anyone done that and if so what has your experience been like?? Would you do it again?

comments/input please.

I am so damn confused....

·
Banned
6,512 Posts
1. Yes. Just about anytime you mod a motor (add more power) engine life will suffer because of more stress caused on various parts of your engine/drivetrain. However, you can always upgrade part of your car to handle more power. (clutch/flywheel/sleeved block ,etc)

2. Which turbo you use is not really going to matter the thing that will matter is size and amount of PSI.

3. Any F/I is going to always take constant tuning and constant monitoring of various gauges. Stuff like oil will be need to changed EVERY 3,000 miles. There is much more maintenence and things you need to watch for when going f/i, this is especially true when u r adding f/i to a originally n/a motor.