Acura RSX, ILX and Honda EP3 Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, hello out there. New to the boards, and newish to EP3s. I'm a Honda Platinum rated journeyman tech in Canada working at one of the biggest Honda dealers in the area, but we don't see many EP3s. That said, I'm a Honda tech and not really big into modding Hondas. I have a JDM Evo and a diesel truck for that, my only experience with Honda modding is checking out the projects the other guys at the shop have, and my stock car.

I currently run a 1987 Honda CRX on a local dirt oval track and am looking to expand the race team next season with another car. A 2002 EP3 write-off is up for sale cheap (well, cheap for here, lets not worry about how much I'm paying for it) and I plan to pick it up tomorrow afternoon. Damage is minor, just some cosmetic stuff. Chances are the car may end up tube-framed anyway, so not too worried about that. Onto my situation:

The class I run in has rules that allow fuel injection or carburetion (I love how Google Chrome tells me I spelled that wrong). Fuel injected cars are given a weight penalty of 1.3 lbs per CC, while carb cars get 1.0 lbs per CC. Engines are fairly open except for some stuff about flat top pistons and stock (for the engine) stroke. Knife edging and such is allowed.

The car comes with a running but higher mileage K20A3 (which will be refreshed as necessary). I also have access to a K20A2 through a sponsor, which would also need refreshing.

I am considering switching the A3 to carb and getting the benefits of lower weight, which as I understand is not exactly something commonly done. I know it would involve some custom parts and tuning, and I am willing to bet I'd lose some HP/TQ by having to eliminate the computer control and fuel injection, but would gain simplicity (in wiring and engine bay) and likely better handling/acceleration because of lighter weight.