Acura RSX, ILX and Honda EP3 Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
is whisling sound mean you have turbo charger or is that some sorda umm exhaust and shit?
and whislin gets louder faster ya go?
i personaly think its a turbo..
don't you guys think so?

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
damn its so loud?
so heres the question.
wat makes sound so loud? dose it depend on the BOV or the size of the pipe u use?

·
4shizzle
543 Posts
RSik_C said:
damn its so loud?
so heres the question.
wat makes sound so loud? dose it depend on the BOV or the size of the pipe u use?
i donno im a newb, i know different BOV's have different sound but im pretty sure it depends on how much air is being pushed by the turbine (the higher the rpms its spinning) and I guess the psi associated w/ it (pipe size?). when the throttle is closed the air thats comming from the still spinning turbine is released into the atmosphere through the BOV, untill the turbo slows down, or the throttle opens up again allowing the air to go into the chamber. So if the psi is high when the throttle closes the air will be forced out harder? I also am pretty sure the BOV is vacuum actuated.

·
Registered
4,968 Posts
the BOV only goes off when u shift or release teh gas though.

i'm guessing u're talking about those whistling exhausts, or possible a supercharger, which has a more whining sound.

·
Registered
1,037 Posts
a BOV usually sounds like a Shhhhhhhhhhh noise when on a turbo charged car. Some people get a whistling noise from their intakes sucking in air too. In not exactly sure what the question was but hope that helps

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
yea but i get that whsilin sound from intake its when suppose i move the gear from 3rd to frist all of sudean u hear this whislein sound but no i'm sure its BOV.
the thing is when u drive at high RPM it should make loud whislin noise right?

·
I LOVE HIGH SCHOOL GIRLS!
20,225 Posts