Acura RSX, ILX and Honda EP3 Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have a 2002 Acura Rsx 5 Speed Base. I recently had a misfire in cylinder #3 and I changed all of my spark plugs and ignition coils. I also had a Vtec system failure and I changed out the Vtec solenoid. My belt was old and dirty so I changed that as well. The only code I had left was p0325 (knock sensor) I have the piece it’s just I’m not sure how to change it. I was driving and my CEL started flashing signaling a misfire. I went to autozone and got the codes checked and this came up (see image). Does anyone might know what this is? I believe it can possibly be the ECU. I’m only 16 and this is my first project car, I have a daily at home, but this is just annoying and stressful. I had so much plans for this car but these problems keep interfering.
image.jpg
8ADE1FD4-DEB2-4698-A1FA-753FDF16B447.jpeg

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
Your car is too low and destroyed the ECU. Ok, just kidding.

The P1607 would indicate your PCM (ECU) is shot. Did you use OEM coils and the correct spark plugs? Could any of the work that was performed have damaged or shorted harness wires? Is the alternator outputting way too much voltage?
Unless you can borrow a known good ECU to test, you may have to buy a used one. Most likely will need to get the immobilizer reprogrammed.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yea, I went to autozone and bo
Your car is too low and destroyed the ECU. Ok, just kidding.

The P1607 would indicate your PCM (ECU) is shot. Did you use OEM coils and the correct spark plugs? Could any of the work that was performed have damaged or shorted harness wires? Is the alternator outputting way too much voltage?
Unless you can borrow a known good ECU to test, you may have to buy a used one. Most likely will need to get the immobilizer reprogrammed.